TL;DR
Turn quiet afternoons into listening time
- Thousands of audiobooks, podcasts and originals
- Listen on your phone, tablet or Echo — also offline
- Cancel anytime
A Seniors Guide report says many senior care costs in Texas are generally below national averages, with nursing home costs especially less expensive. Its figures include $30 an hour for non-medical home care and about $90 an hour for private-duty nursing, but actual costs vary by location, schedule and care needs.
Seniors Guide’s Texas cost report puts the median price of non-medical in-home care at $30 an hour and adult day health care at about $90 a day, while saying senior living costs in the state are generally below national averages. The figures offer families a comparison across care types, but they are not quotes for a particular provider: the report says costs vary with location, service needs and schedules.
For non-medical home care, aides may help with personal hygiene, meals, laundry, mobility, transportation and medication reminders. Seniors Guide lists a statewide median hourly cost of $30, a median daily cost of $189 and a monthly equivalent of $5,720. Those totals depend on how many hours are scheduled and the minimum visit requirements. Agency care may cost more than hiring a companion directly, the report says, while agencies may provide screening, backup coverage and liability protection.
The report gives a wide local spread: non-medical home care averages $214 per day in the Austin metropolitan area and $116 per day in metropolitan McAllen. It says evening, weekend and holiday care can raise rates. Medical home health services are a separate category: private-duty nurses charge a median of about $90 an hour, but the listed median monthly cost is $390, or $4,680 annually, because nurses generally spend less time with patients than home care aides.
Adult day health care averages about $90 per day in Texas, or $1,950 monthly, according to Seniors Guide. The report compares that with a national median of $95 per day, or $2,058 monthly. Adult day programs typically provide daytime supervision and activities; some also offer health or therapeutic services. The report says program type, attendance schedule, location and medical supervision affect the price.
How Care Choices Shape Costs
The figures show why families need to compare both the type of support and the amount of time it is needed. A higher hourly rate does not necessarily mean a higher monthly bill: the report’s private-duty nursing estimate is substantially higher per hour than non-medical home care, but reflects fewer hours of service. Some people may need both types of help, depending on their circumstances.
Local variation also matters. The Austin and McAllen daily estimates differ by $98 a day, illustrating that a statewide figure may not reflect prices near a family’s home. Residential options bring additional variables, including housing, amenities and fees. Comparing a particular community or provider with statewide medians can help families frame questions, but the report does not replace an individual cost estimate.
The report says adult day care may give family caregivers time for other responsibilities while providing seniors with supervision and social activities. It also notes that Medicaid and long-term care insurance may cover some medical care costs. It does not establish that either source will pay for every program or service, so families would need to check coverage and eligibility for their situation.
Products Worth Considering

Levoit Eleva 300X HEPA Air Purifier for Home and Bedroom

Therabody JetBoots PRO Plus Wireless LED 3-in-1 Compression Boots, Short (29 in Inseam)

Oral-B iO Series 7 Rechargeable Electric Toothbrush with 2 Brush Heads and Charging Travel Case
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Texas Care Options in the Report
The report covers a range of arrangements, from aging in place to retirement communities and more intensive care. Home care aides provide non-medical assistance, while home health professionals deliver skilled services, such as checking vital signs or helping with medical equipment. Their visit lengths and responsibilities differ, which is one reason their prices should not be compared as if they were identical services.
For residential living, Seniors Guide describes active-adult homes and independent living communities. Active-adult housing can involve rentals or purchased homes, with recurring costs such as homeowners association, activity or amenity fees. Independent living is generally private-pay housing, the report says, and may range from basic apartments to resort-style settings. It does not provide a single official statewide average for independent living.
The report says costs are influenced by local housing, labor and service prices. It also notes that some continuing care retirement communities and Life Plan Communities may charge an entrance fee intended to help address future long-term medical care expenses. The supplied material does not give a statewide price for those fees or for active-adult and independent-living communities.
“The median hourly cost statewide is $30.”
— Seniors Guide report
Limits of Statewide Cost Estimates
The supplied report material does not identify a publication date, the underlying data collection period or the specific source methodology for the cost estimates. Readers should treat the numbers as reported medians and averages, not current guaranteed rates or a provider’s binding quote. The report also does not give prices for every option it discusses, including active-adult homes and independent living.
Several estimates depend on assumptions that are not fully detailed in the supplied text, including how many days of care make up monthly equivalents. The listed monthly figure for private-duty nursing is far below the cost of continuous hourly service, consistent with the report’s statement that nurses spend less time with patients; however, it does not specify the typical number of hours behind that monthly estimate. Individual needs, agency policies and local availability can change a bill.
Coverage is another open question for any household. The report says Medicaid and long-term care insurance may cover some medical care costs, but it does not specify eligibility rules, covered services or plan terms. Families need to confirm those details with relevant programs, insurers and providers.
Getting a Local Care Estimate
The next step for families comparing options is to request written estimates from providers in the relevant Texas community. They can ask what services are included, whether rates change for nights or weekends, what minimum visit lengths apply, and how costs are calculated when care needs increase. For home care, comparing the hourly rate with the expected weekly schedule can clarify the likely monthly expense.
For residential communities, prospective residents can request a breakdown of rent, entrance fees, association charges, meals, activities and any care services billed separately. Those questions are particularly relevant because the report describes wide variation in housing types and amenities but does not publish a statewide price for independent living or active-adult housing.
Families can also ask providers and insurers whether a specific service may qualify for coverage and what documentation or eligibility requirements apply. The report supplies broad benchmarks; a local quote and confirmed coverage details are needed to establish what a particular household is likely to pay.
Key Questions
What is the reported median cost of non-medical home care in Texas?
Seniors Guide lists a median of $30 an hour, along with a median daily cost of $189 and a monthly equivalent of $5,720. Actual charges vary with location, hours, services and minimum visit requirements.
How much does adult day health care cost in Texas?
The report puts the Texas average at about $90 per day, or $1,950 per month. It says prices depend on the program, schedule, location and level of medical supervision.
Does the report give a statewide price for independent living?
No. It describes independent living as generally private-pay housing and says costs vary by housing and amenities, but the supplied report material does not give one official statewide average.
Can Medicaid or insurance pay for senior care in Texas?
Seniors Guide says Medicaid and long-term care insurance may cover some medical care costs. Coverage depends on the service, eligibility and policy terms, which families should confirm with the relevant program or insurer.
Source: seniorsguide.com
